BROOKVILLE — The annual Tri-County Envirothon was held May 7 at the Jefferson County Fairgrounds in Brookville and is hosted by the Jefferson County Conservation District (JCCD), Clarion County Conservation District (CCCD) and Forest County Conservation District & Planning Department (FCCDPD).

This year’s Envirothon included 100 high school students from the following schools: Brockway, Brookville, Clarion-Limestone, East Forest, Keystone, North Clarion, Punxsutawney, Redbank, East Forest, and West Forest.

Presenters at this year’s event included:

  • Forestry Station – Lee Swoger – Department of Conservation and Natural Resources – Bureau of Forestry
  • Aquatics Station – Shaun Wessell, JCCD
  • Wildlife Station – Roger Hartless, Andrew Troutman and Frank Leichtenberger – PA Game Commission
  • Soils Station – Suzanne Klinger, NRCS, and Megan Whitlatch, JCCD
  • Ag and the Environment Station – Trudy Alexander, CCCD

Melissa Buck, JCCD, coordinates the event each year for students in grades 9-12. Donna Zofcin, FCCDPD, also assisted at the event. Students used study materials provided on the Pennsylvania Envirothon’s website to prepare for the competition. The day of the event, tests were completed and scored at each of the five stations. Prior to the awards, Don Crytzer and Ruth Rowan of North Fork Watershed Association used a Stormwater Simulator and Dana Grabowski and Becky Gaston of JCCD used a Groundwater Flow Model to educate students on managing stormwater and protecting water resources.

Recommended Video

The overall winner of this year’s Envirothon was Brockway – Team A with a score of 394. The team received the traveling trophy and each team member received a gold medallion. The team included: Austin Pringle, Tanner Pearce, Jacob DeBerti, Cecilia Manno and Emily Roush. Advisor – Kyle Norman.

Keystone – Team A was second place with a score of 323. Each team member received silver medallions. Team members included: Logan English, Alyssa Klingler, Nemah Saylor, Caleb Thompson and Conrad Lloyd. Advisor – Pam McCandless.

Brookville – Team A was third place with a score of 305. Team members received bronze medallions. Members include: Luc Doolittle, Jenna Gould, Emily McAninch, Airen Kelso and Sydney Barto. Advisor – Cheri Keys.

Brockway Team A was the top team in all five stations and received awards for this accomplishment. West Forest Team A and Redbank Team A also won awards for high scores in the Aquatics Stations.

The top team in each county is eligible to attend the Pennsylvania Envirothon on May 21-22 at University of Pittsburgh Johnstown and Windber Recreation Park. The top team from Clarion County was Team A from Keystone High School. The top team from Forest County was Team A from West Forest High School. The top team from Jefferson County was Team A from Brockway High School.

Recommended for you